Monte San Giusto is a small town of 8.000 inhabitants, lying on a hillock overlooking the Chienti river midway between the cities of Macerata and Civitanova Marche. Propably known by the name Telusiano, Monte San Giusto boasts ancient origins. The first documented settlement dates back to the roman period (Nerva’s Era 96 – 98 B.C.). Integrated with the ecclesiastic district of Fermo, passes during the Lombards reign with the Ducato di Spoleto, in the eleventh century Monte San Giusto became into the possession of the Abbey of Farfa, than gained its independence in the twelfth century. In the year 1387 Pope Urbano VI (1378 – 1389) imposed territorial strictures to the Papacy, exempting the town from taxes. During the reign of Bonifacio IX Monte San Giusto was granted the right to elect its own Podestà . Monte San Giusto enjoyed its most prosperous period during the sixteenth century, Nicolò Bonafede born at Monte San Giusto in the year 1463, bishop of Chiusi and official of the papal court during the reigns of Popes Alessandro IV and Clemente VII, beautified Monte SanGiusto by building Palazzo Bonafede and establishing in his native town a Renaissance court. As well as commisioning the restoration of the XIV century church of Santa Maria in Telusiano and the monumental altarpiece “La Crocifissione” by Lorenzo Lotto. Through the 1700s and 1800s Monte San Giusto was subject to constant destroyful raids by French Troops. The national italian hero Giuseppe Garibaldi stopped at Monte San Giusto during a trip between Macerata and Fermo. After the two World Wars, the development of the artisan footware industry decisively linked Monte San Giusto economically to the rest of Italy, becoming internationally recognized for its high quality shoe manifacturing.